join me for a run

This marathon is getting closer (only nine weeks away now!) and I’ve been running more and more. I’m still slow, of course, and I walk quite a lot of my jaunts, especially the uphill bits. Happily, that means I get more time to take pictures.

Would you care for a little trot around last weekend’s ten miles with me?

We run a mile downhill to the park first. This is where the local 5k parkrun is held on a Saturday morning, and I thought about all the times I’ve done that as I ran this bit. Instead of turning round and heading back to the start though, this time I carried on up the valley.

It’s a gorgeous path, alongside a stream, gently uphill all the way from the city out to the Peak District. When you get to the end of the wooded bit, it opens out into fields, and you get a little (very welcome!) downhill stretch for a while. 

The sky was gorgeous that day, deep blue, with clouds rolling and tumbling over themselves. 

At a fork in the path, just as it started to head upwards again, I was stopped by a bunch of young tourists, asking the way to the alpaca farm. I pointed them in the right direction, and headed off down the other fork myself, vaguely thinking it would be more fun to be alone on the path, as I probably wouldn’t be much faster than them.

I ended up in another bit of woodland I’d not been in before. This was very pretty, but felt like an enormous detour, and was rather more uphill than I expected. 

 

(When I got home and looked at the map, it was barely a detour at all)

Eventually I made it to the top, and bumped into the tourists again, who had been travelling about as fast as me, carrying their picnic and chattering. Hmm – clearly I need to speed up a bit. We all laughed.

I passed the top of the road they’d come up – the one I should have been on.

There’s some utterly gorgeous views of the city from up here. It feels very far away, but really is only about 5 miles from the city centre.

This road carries on round for a couple of miles, and you get views like this all along it. It really does lift the spirits (as does knowing that the worst of the uphill bits are all done).

 

Eventually I made it back to near civilisation, and the road started heading downwards back towards the city, and home. This is an ancient toll road I believe, and still has a couple of boundary posts along it. One side is houses now, but for most of the way along it, you still get glorious views out over the hills to the left. I confess I was exhausted by the time I got home. According to the little pace predictor calculator, this marathon will take me about 8 hours (the cut off is 6). I’m blaming all those hills. Luckily the marathon is flat…

 

This entry was posted in adventures, i love it round here, running. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to join me for a run

  1. If you are going for most excellent contents like I do, only visit this site daily because it provides feature contents, thanks|

Leave a Reply

