experimental soap

I’m down to my last bar of home made soap. This pretty impressive, given that I last made soap in February 2012.

I use the instructions from the Down to Earth blog to make a plain olive and coconut oil soap. I’ve made this several times now, and each time it’s turned out slightly differently (and usually involved me having to remelt it because it hasn’t set properly).

I bought all my ingredients, cleaned the kitchen, put radio 4 on and made sure Peter was out. Couldn’t find the thermometer but carried on regardless (we all know what I’m like for (not) following instructions).

Normally, as soon as the caustic soda hits the water it fizzes and heats up to almost boiling. This time it was barely warm, and hardly fizzing at all.

Hmm. I emptied it down the drain and tried again. No – still no fizz, and no heat (but at least the drain was clean).

Then I spotted the problem – I’d bought ‘drain cleaner WITH caustic soda’ (and presumably a load of other useless ingredients). My soap making would have to wait another day…

The next day, armed with plain, uncut caustic soda, I tried again. Still no thermometer, but it fizzed nicely, and I made an educated guess as to when the oil and caustic soda were the same temperature, then threw them in together and set about mixing them with my stick blender (trying not to make them into a frothy mess like last time).

Well, they mixed nicely – but they also melted and completely ruined my stick blender. It seems that thermometer would have come in handy after all…

By this point it was getting late, and I had a wedding to cycle to the next day and needed some sleep. I abandoned the mix on the stove, thinking I’d remelt it in the morning and try again, as I had so many times before. In the morning, the mix had set entirely solid in the bottom of the pan, trapping my balloon whisk. IMG_1542Two hours of gentle melting later, and I was left with this half-solid disgusting mess, which I’m afraid I abandoned again to cycle to the wedding.

IMG_1544Somehow, the abandoned mixture sat in disgrace on the back of the stove for several more days. I tried remelting, but Peter couldn’t stand the fumes and I had to stop. Eventually he went out, and I tried again. Despite having all the windows open, the fumes were so strong I feared I might poison our temporary dog, so I had to give up again.

At this point I despaired. I’d ruined my stick blender, and three pans and the balloon whisk were caked in toxic smelling soap mix. I ignored the whole sorry mess for another couple of days, then decided to throw the whole lot in the bin and start again.

(Around this time I spotted the thermometer – sitting innocently in the cutlery pot right next to the sink, where it had been all along).

I started gouging the now-solid mix out of the first of the three pans, thinking how much of a shame it was to throw it away when I’d spent nearly Ā£7 on ingredients. As I gouged, I realised it felt, well, soapy. I put the first empty pan in the sink and it filled with bubbles. Had I actually made soap after all??

IMG_1597Not very pretty though, is it?? In fact, it looks even worse than the mashed potato fiasco of last year. But worth keeping to grate and mix with soda crystals to make washing powder…

Some of it I managed to slice, and by the end, it looked quite passable. In fact, if you squint a little and turn your head to one side, it could even pass as art.

IMG_1598I won’t give up the day job just yet though…

This entry was posted in in the kitchen, look what i made!. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to experimental soap

  1. berkshireporker says:

    I love blog posts like these, as they show that these things aren’t always that easy, but despite that they are also able to be worked through, with a usable outcome (and people that aren’t perfect can do them šŸ™‚ ).

    If you’re wondeing who I am, I am vl2588 on MSE, with a shiny new wordpress login.

  2. Thanks šŸ™‚ It’s probably better if things turn out how they’re meant to, but usable is good anyway… And it’s a good job you don’t need to be perfect to get stuff done, or not much would be done at all!

Leave a Reply

