counting steps

Redmires 1I am so much enjoying running at the minute.

I’ve never been this fit, or this fast, or this consistent. It’s great. I mean, I’m not going to be winning a race any time soon, but there’s a distinct possibility I might not come last in the next one.

Redmires 2These photos are from my eight mile run last weekend. Isn’t that scenery glorious? I do so much love living here and having this on my doorstep.

A couple of weeks ago I bought an expensive, fancy-pants GPS running watch. Most unlike me (although I did buy it second hand), but I confess I have fallen in love with it. It tells me all kinds of things I could probably live without knowing – how far I’ve gone, my heart rate, how fast I’m going. It beeps at me if I’m going too fast or slow for the type of run I’m doing. It can even tell me how to get home if I get lost.

When I get back, I can plug it into the computer, and it shows me a map of where I’ve been, how hilly it was (like I didn’t notice while I was out…), and how my heart rate and pace changed with the terrain.

All things I could manage perfectly well without, I know.

Redmires 3I never would have thought I’d be motivated by numbers, but it’s actually quite fun to see how fast you’re going. Knowing exact figures somehow spurs me on to try and beat myself.

Redmires 4The good news is that I don’t need to stop taking photographs – my new watch has an ‘auto-pause’ function which means that when I stop, the timer stops too. How good is that? (I confess I paused it myself when I got to this ludicrous boggy patch – I had to climb over a wall to get round it. I’m all for a bit of mud, but this would have entirely filled my shoes and I still had four miles to go).

One of my reasons for this year of running was to see just how well I could do if I put my mind to it and trained properly. I was intrigued to see if I would be able to stick with a training plan (something I’ve never managed before).

Surprisingly, it’s working! I’ve run three times every week since October, and most weeks I’ve been swimming, done an indoor cycling class, and a session of pilates too.

I have no idea what’s changed, but something has. Something makes me determined to make a go of it, and something makes me get out of bed at stupid-o-clock to run.

Still, it doesn’t do to think too hard about these things. There may come a time when my enthusiasm will wear off but for now I’m enjoying myself. Although listening to the rain, tomorrow’s run will be an in-the-gym-watching-cookery-programmes one…

Redmires 5

This entry was posted in adventures, i love it round here, running. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to counting steps

  1. Robyn says:

    It’s funny how when something like that “clicks” with you, it really does. The same thing’s happened to me with the walking (No, I’m not for a second comparing your competitive-type serious running with my weekend ambles, don’t worry!) that I feel the need to keep it up, to prove to myself that I can do so, and the more I do, the more I’m enjoying it, too! I need to thank you for my own personal “Counting of steps” too – it was a good degree your enthusiasm for your pedometer that got me hooked on it too!

    • I’m loving your enthusiasm for walking right now, and quite inspired by your local adventures! I think there might be some in my future too… As for my ‘competitive-type serious running’ – if my running pals could hear that they’d be falling about on the floor laughing! 🙂 I must revive my pedometer and plan a few local hikes…

  2. Maria says:

    I need to second the end of Robyn’s sentence – after reading about how much you liked your pedometer last year I requested one for Christmas – and my boyfriend turned up trumps with a FitBit, which I love wearing. It’s funny, I didn’t think numbers would motivate me that much either, but I’ve been wearing it since Christmas, and it does make me think and often choose better: walk rather than bus to/from the station, walk up stairs rather than lift at work!
    I don’t think I’m going to be joining you on the running though… Have to say your 3-times-a week plus swimming and Pilates sounds very impressive! (I do the Pilates part of that, hee hee).

    • Glad you’ve been inspired, and a FitBit! I’ve heard good things about them. It’s funny how much you can be motivated by something small, isn’t it? Even little changes add up. It’s also funny how easily I’ve squeezed that amount of exercise into what felt like an already over-full life – some other things got edged out of course, but it’s amazing what you can do when you put your mind to it!

Leave a Reply

