an outing to Blacka Moor

IMG_1474 (1024x768)I have a long term plan to visit all eleven of our local Wildlife Trust reserves. I think at one point I planned to do this within a year (possibly 2011), but it’s extended well beyond that year and we’ve only just got round to visiting reserve number six.

Blacka Moor is perched high above Sheffield, on the edge of the Peak District. I drive past it a lot on my way to other places, but never found the time to stop.

We chose a gloomy day, after what can only be described as a Difficult Week (yes, with capital letters). The snow lingered, the sky was hazy, and the ground was thick with churned up mud.

IMG_1456 (1024x768) IMG_1461 (1024x768)I’m sure on a sunny day Blacka Moor is beautiful. The Wildlife Trust pictures show purple heather and breathtaking views. But I confess it didn’t feel very beautiful when we were there.

IMG_1467 (1024x768) IMG_1471 (1024x768)Still, we had a good stomp about in our wellies, and it was nice to be out in the fresh air.

IMG_1464 (1024x768)We saw quite a few people on mountain bikes, and if you’re brave enough I imagine the steep, rutted descents are rather thrilling.

It wasn’t all bad. I got to indulge my enthusiasm for lichen (and I’m now waiting for some more knowledgeable person to tell me that this isn’t lichen at all).

IMG_1466 (1024x768)And we had a nice cup of tea in Bakewell afterwards too, so I can’t complain too much.

Back home, things have turned decidedly snowy again.

IMG_1479 (1024x768)I’m quite enjoying being forced to walk everywhere. The trees make the most beautiful patterns against the wintry sky.

IMG_1483 (1024x768) IMG_1485 (1024x768)And because I’m walking places I’d usually drive to, I’m seeing things I wouldn’t usually see.

IMG_1487 (1024x768) IMG_1488 (1024x768)All very pretty – but I’m quite ready for spring now please.

This entry was posted in i love it round here. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to an outing to Blacka Moor

  1. Loving those pictures of snow… but glad not to be living with it myself!

  2. Angel Jem says:

    What an old fashioned name! It is quite victorian, isn’t it?
    The snow looks gorgeous, until you see that it is all UP the side of the trees. How bad must the storm have been to be horizontal, not just vertical! Hope it warms up soon.

  3. Beautiful pictures! And, like you, I’ve no idea if that’s lichen or not, but it looks really special, whatever it is.

Leave a Reply

