more wanderings

IMG_0877 (1024x768)We’ve been wandering around the city again.

A different side this time, and one I’m not too familiar with, although I have crossed over this river before. This is the River Don, and our walk was another part of the Sheffield Country Walk, which eventually takes you all the way round the outskirts of the entire city.

IMG_0879 (1024x768)Just four miles for us this time, in the cold autumnal wind. Along the river, through the woods, up the hill, and out onto this edge, where the wind almost blew us away and I saw the city from an angle I’ve never seen it from before and barely recognised it.

IMG_0882 (1024x768)We took a detour from Birley Edge down Jaw Bone hill. This is one of the hills Le Tour climbed up when they came through in the summer, and we were very glad we were going down and not up (although down would have been much easier if we’d been on bicycles!)

IMG_0883 (1024x768)We’re enjoying this new weekend tradition of ours. As we head towards winter and the days feel short and dark, it feels good to be outside, stomping about in the leaves and watching the landscape change. Things can feel rather gloomy at this time of year, and I’m happier when I’m outside (or when I’ve just been outside and I’m now inside wrapped around a hot chocolate).

IMG_0884 (1024x768)Have you been exploring anywhere local to you lately?

This entry was posted in adventures, cheerful living, i love it round here. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to more wanderings

  1. Elizabeth says:

    Lovely photos and I enjoyed reading all about your walk too. It’s good to be able to get out and about at this time of the year when the trees are looking their most spectacular. Thanks for sharing. Elizabeth

    PS: we are planning a walk round one of our favourite places, the Culzean Castle Country estate, this weekend 🙂

  2. Cicely says:

    Hi Jenni

    I just left a reply to your kind response to my questions on Heather’s blog and I am so glad it led me here as now I have another beautiful place to visit. Your photography is absolutely stunning!
    I can’t think of anything nicer thing to do right this moment (particularly as I have a cup of tea and slice of homemade plum cake sitting beside me) than have a good browse 🙂

    Cicely

  3. Thank you both! Hope you enjoyed your walk Elizabeth 🙂 And lovely to see you Cicely! I do like a bit of plum cake, and can’t think of anything better to do than eat some with a nice cup of tea and have a wander through someone else’s life for a while. How lovely, hope you enjoyed it!

Leave a comment